• img-book


SKU: 9789380829050 Categories: , ,


(With Ragacandrika Vyakhya) by: Bhagavatsharan Shukla

This composition of the sixteenth century, edited and commentated upon by Acharya Bhagawat Sharan Sukhla, introduces eighty-seven ragas, some are famous such as Bhairav, Bhairavi, Vasant, Tohri and Malkauns, and some are little known like Rodika, Saurashtri, Aothi, Yogi Bangalika and Kurai. It is part of the ongoing efforts of the National Mission for Manuscripts, giving exposure to the unpublished Sanskrit volumes.



ISBN: 9789380829050
Year Of Publication: 2013
Edition: 1st
Pages : xxxi, 225p.
Language : Hindi
Binding : Hardcover
Publisher: D.K. Printworld Pvt. Ltd.
Size: 25
Weight: 650


The experiences and knowledge from our past are recorded in manuscripts which have been handed down to us over several thousand years. The Government of India, through the Department of Culture, took note of the importance of the vast tangible heritage and in order to preserve and conserve as well as to make access to this wealth easy, established the National Mission for Manuscripts. In order to disseminate the knowledge content of manuscripts, the Mission has taken up several programmes such as lectures, seminars and workshops. The Mission has published the proceedings of the above-said programmes under the following series: Samrakshika (on conservation), Kritibodha (critically edited texts), Tattvabodha (comprises lectures based on some manuscripts delivered by eminent scholars) and Samiksika (research-oriented papers as presented in the seminars). This year, the National Mission for Manuscripts has taken up a project for publishing rare and unpublished manuscripts in three formats — (a) Facsimile, (b) Critical edition (illustrated and single copy manuscript), (c) Critical edition with annotation and translation. This new series has been named as Prakashika. Ragarnavam, critically edited by Acharya Bhagawat Sharan Shukla, comes under this series.
The happiness from the knowledge of music is well-known. From the very beginning of creation, music was the part and parcel of human civilization. Its relevance to our lives is known from the Vedic period. Besides nataka, Rishi Bharata is considered as the acarya of music too. To enrich this knowledge, many saint-composers devoted themselves to shastraic compositions. Ragarnavam is one of such compositions. Though no details are available on the compositor, this work is a sufficient proof of the composer’s mastery.
Ragarnavam, it is believed, was composed somewhere in the sixteenth century. It is a collection of eighty lyrics. Acharya Bhagawat Sharan Shukla has edited and written commentary on it, in the backdrop of the two available manuscripts of this composition. This composition introduces nearly eighty-seven ragas — some are famous, some are little known. While this composition details famous ragas like Bhairav, Bhairavi, Vasant, Torhi, and Malkosh, it features ragas like Rodika, Saurashtri, Aothi, Yogi Bangalika, Kurai, as well.
This book will definitely be a boon to the music lovers. It can even entice researchers on music. This volume is part of the ongoing efforts of the National Mission for Manuscripts, giving exposure to the unpublished Sanskrit volumes.


— Dipti Sharma Tripathi
— Bhagavatsharan Shukla
Ragarnavam — Original Text with Sargam
Ragarnavam — (With Ragacandrika Vyakhya)
1. Raga Bhairava
2. Raga Bhairavi
3. Raga Varati
4. Raga Saindhavi
5. Raga Madhyamadi
6. Raga Bangalika
7. Raga Malakosh
8. Raga Rodika
9. Raga Khambhavati
10. Raga Gauri
11. Raga Gunakriya
12. Raga Kakubh
13. Raga Hidole
14. Raga Velavati (Bilaval)
— South Indian
— North Indian
15. Raga Deshakhya
16. Raga Patmanjari
17. Raga Lalita
18. Raga Ramkriya
19. Raga Deepak
20. Raga Karnati
— North Indian Kahnana
— South Indian Kannada
21. Raga Deshi
22. Raga Kamodi
23. Raga Kedari
24. Raga Natika
— North Indian
— South Indian
25. Raga Sriraga
— North Indian
— South Indian
26. Raga Vasantika
— North Indian
— South Indian
27. Raga Malav
28. Raga Malashri
29. Raga Dhanashri
30. Raga Asavari
31. Raga Megh
32. Raga Malhari
— North Indian
— South Indian
33. Raga Deshkar
34. Raga Bhupali
35. Raga Gurjari
36. Raga Tank (North Indian)
37. Raga Trivan
38. Raga Gaur
— South Indian
39. Raga Pahari
40. Raga Devagiri
41. Raga Pancham
— North Indian
— South Indian
42. Raga Marshri
43. Raga Vibhas
44. Raga Saurashtri
45. Raga Sorathi
46. Raga Desh
47. Raga Malhar
48. Raga Saveri
— North Indian
— South Indian
49. Raga Gandhar
— North Indian
— South Indian
50. Raga Devgandhar
51. Raga Jaishree
52. Raga Kalyani
53. Raga Abhiri
54. Raga Sarang
— North Indian
— South Indian
55. Raga Natnarayan
56. Raga Shyam
57. Raga Imani (Yamani)
58. Raga Kudai
59. Raga Nagdhvani
60. Raga Shankarabharan
61. Raga Barahansi
62. Raga Barva
63. Raga Bahar
64. Raga Vihag
65. Raga Bhimapalasi
66. Raga Yajesangy
67. Raga Poorvi
68. Raga Peelu
69. Raga Tailangi
70. Raga Yogi Bangalika
71. Raga Janpuri
72. Raga Aaothi
73. Raga Chaitri Gauri
74. Raga Jaijaivanti
75. Raga Gaurmalhari
76. Raga Chaya
77. Raga Chayanat
78. Raga Dhani (Dhanashri samutpann)
79. Raga Dhani (Saindhavi samutpann)
80. Raga Suha and Sugharai
81. Original handwritten first page — ka matrika
82. Original handwritten last page — kha matrika

Meet the Author
Acharya Bhagawatsharan Shukla, PhD, is known as Navyavyakaranacharya, Navyanyayashastri, Sangeetpraveen (Flute), traditional or vaidic karmakanda specialist, dharmashastra and jyotish knowledge holder and artist of Akashvani (Varanasi). He has been educated in music by late Pandit Bholanath “Prasanna”. He is currently Associate Professor in the Department of Vyakarana of Kashi Hindu Vishwavidyalaya. He has composed Paribhasharth Chandika, Mahabhashyatattva Vimarsha, Siddhanta Kaumudikaraka Prakaranatika, Vaidic-tattvavimarsha, Pariharshashthivrata-katha (with commentary), Saudamini Shodhpatrika, etc. Acharya Shukla has been credited with titles like Vyakarana Shastrarth, Vedapandit, and Sanskrit Maha-mahopadhyaya. His compositions have been published in national and international journals.
Books of Bhagavatsharan Shukla