K. Satchidananda Murty
1924,  Male ,  Indian

Professor K. Satchidananda Murty has taught philosophy at Andhra University for a quarter century. He was the Vice-Chancellor of S.V. University (1975-78), Vice-Chairman of the UGC (1986-89), and the Chairman of Indian Philosophical Congress (1980-94). He was honoured with Padma Bhushan in 1984 and Padma Vibhushan in 2001.

Professor Satchidananda Murty is the most thought-provoking philos opher of our times, whose books on Indian philosophy, culture, religion – particularly Vedanta – contain an instructive and penetrating analysis. Four Indian universities, including the Benaras Sanskrit University have conferred on him the Hon. D. Lit., apart from Wittenberg University in Germany, Sofia University of Bulgaria, Russian Academy of Sciences, and People’s University of China.

1980 – Honorary D.Litt., Sampurnanand Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Banaras,Varanasi.

1980 – Honorary D.Litt., Sampurnanand Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Banaras,Varanasi.

1982 – D.Litt., Andhra University, Waltair.

1983 – D.Litt., Nagarjuna University, Guntur.

1985 – D.Litt., S.V. University, Tirupati.

1959 – Visiting Professor (taught for a term), Princeton University.

1963 – Spalding lectures.

1970 – Visiting Professor, Indian Institute of Advanced Studies, Simla.

1973-75 – National Fellow (UGC)

1978 – National Lecturer (UGC) in Philosophy

1980 – A.P. State Award for Meritorious Teachers

1982 – Dr. B.C. Roy National Award

1982 – Raja Lakshmi Foundation Award

1983 – Swami Pranavananda Philosophy National Award

1984 – Padmabhushan Award by the President of India

1984-86 – National Fellow, Indian Council of Philosophical Research.

2001 – Padmavibhushan Award by the President of India

General President, Akhila Bharatiya Darshan Parishad, Ninth Session, Lucknow University. 1963 General President, Akhila Bharatiya Darshan Parishad, Ninth Session, Lucknow University. 1963 University Orator. 1966-69General President, Indian Philosophical Congress, Session, Patna University. 1968 Chairman, Indian Philosophical Congress. 1980


1. Hanumad-Vijayamu 1938

2. Nama-sankirtana-mahima (Translation of Sri Prabhudatta Brahmachari’s Hindi work). 1938

3. Srimad-Bhagavad-Gita Savyakhyanamu. 1941

4. Isopanishattu Savivaranam. 1946

5. Karu Mabbulu (Essays on Philosophical, Political and Social Problems) 1947

6. Divya-Jivitamu (Translation of Edward Leen’s  The Church Before Pilate). 1948

7. Sri Rama Tirtha, Vedanta Darsanamu, (Translation of vol. VI of Swami Rama Tirtha’s Complete Works). 1948

8. Ramanuja Darsanamu. 1951

9. Pramana Paddhati Pai Prasangamu  (Translation of Descartes’ Discourse on Method with an Introduction, and in collaboration with K.V.R. Narasimham). 1959

10. Matamulu Darsanamulu  (editor, “Religions and Philosophies”, vol. VII of Telugu Encyclopaedia that presents in 849 pages the entire Western and Eastern Philosophies and Religions with contributors from all over the world). 1963

11. Manishi, Mukti (Translation of Metaphysics, Man and Freedom; draft by M.V.N. Swami and revised by the author). 1970


1. Samakalan Bharataya Darshna (ed.),  Akhil Bharatiya Darshan Parishad. 1962

Books by K. Satchidananda Murty
What Our Clients Say
9 reviews